Playlist

Uncategorized


“Shawty’s like a melody in my head that I can’t keep out, got me singing like: na na na na everyday. It’s like my iPod’s stuck on replay,” sings Iyaz in his hit song Replay. Well I’ve decided to tell you about the songs that I actualy have got stuck on replay. Yep, you heard it, folks. You’re gonna get exclusive access to my brain and find out which songs are -at the moment- making me tick.

1.Telephone – Lady Gaga feat. Beyonce

This song was released last year and steadily climbed the charts. Then Miss Gaga released its 9-minute long video and it shot up to number one. In usual Gaga style, the video is strange, has some sort of freaky lesbian theme and ends in murder. Great song, weird video. The video is a continuation of last year’s Paparazzi video and ends with the words “To be continued”. I wonder what’s next from the Haus of Gaga….

2.OMG – Usher feat. Will.I.Am

I wrote an article on this song so I’m not going to write much here. I love the video and I love Usher’s wardrobe in it. Let’s be honest, it’s not that good a song but it’s VERY catchy.

3. Fall in Love – D’banj

From the home-front, Fall in Love by Nigerian sensation, D’banj is a hit from start to finish. The song was released two years ago but after a VERY long wait for the video, we’ve all “fallen in love” with the song again. (Sorry, that’s a terrible joke!) A kind of video for the song was released last year but it was actually a promo video for the M-net Face of Africa model search. The video featured the gorgeous finalists for the competition in all sorts of provocative poses while D’banj sang in the foreground. A few weeks ago, the official video was released and it features D’banj’s new boo, Geneveive Nnaji, Nollywood superstar and it’s kind of the couple’s introduction to the world. I was skeptical when I first heard about ‘Genebanj’ but after seeing the video, I’m convinced by their chemistry.

4. Rock That Body – Black Eyed Peas

The Black Eyed Peas are my favourite band and have been ever since I heard Where is the Love back in 2003. I have all of their albums (well, all three since Fergie joined) and their latest offering The E.N.D. has not disappointed me. The first two singles reached number one in the charts and Meet Me Halfway and Imma Be did well too. Rock That Body has a intoxicating beat and fantastic lyrics and it keeps getting better and better as the song goes on. “You can be big boned as long as you feel like your own. You can be the model type: skinny with no appetite. Short-stack, black or white as long as you do what you like…,” sing the Peas. This is definitely one of my best songs on the album, rivalled only by Alive, I Gotta Feeling and One Tribe. Rock That body was released as a single with Imma Be and they share a video. When the video for Imma Be ends, it continues in Rock That Body making a 10 minute long video called “Imma Be Rocking That Body”. The video is done in the Black Eyed Peas’ trademark futuristic style and at the beginning we get to see the peas do some cheesy acting.

5. Blah Blah Blah – Ke$ha feat. 3OH!3

“Zip your lips like a padlock. And meet me at the back with the jack and the jukebox.” After wowing us with her number one single, Tik Tok, Ke$ha has paired up with pop duo 3OH!3 to bring us Blah Blah Blah, the catchy but filthy pop/dance hit. In the song, she tells a man who’s chatting her up not to bother because she already wants to get down to business. (I’m not gonna say anything else on the matter!) Kesha, the singer-songwriter who has been compared with Lady GaGa first burst through our stereos singing the irresistible chorus on Flo Rida’s Right Round and released Tik Tok as her debut the next year. She has released an album called ‘Animal’ and has been green-lighted by the the U.K.’s Gaurdian newspaper as one of the artists who will rule 2010. Blah Blah Blah doesn’t really have what it takes to get to number one but it’ll have you singing it for weeks. I especially the bit where she says, “Stop ta-ta-talking that blah blah blah”!

6. The Day I Died – Just Jack

First off, this song is a bit weird. In it, a man sings about the day he died and how much he enjoyed the day (up until the part when he was hit by a taxi!) “The day I died was the best day of my life,” sings the chorus. The singer didn’t want to die -so the song’s not suicidal!- but he didn’t mind dying because he enjoyed his day so much. That aside, it’s a really good song. Apart from all the death, the song reminds us of the small but satisfying pleasures of life. Just Jack sings in his English accent about all the little things that contributed to giving him the best day of his life. Things as simple as smiles from co-workers and catching his bus in time gave him a great day. I think the song tells us to appreciate life’s little joys. It also tells us to make the most of our lives as we can die at any time. The Day I Died has a simple, calm, acoustic tune and it gives us a peep into the life of a lower-middle class average Joe.

7.Starstrukk – 3OH!3 feat. Katy Perry

Great, catchy song. Trashy lyrics though. I mean “Tight jeans, double D’s. Makes a man go *wolf whistle*”??? What are we? Sex offenders? It’s got a great tune and a good performance from Katy Perry. It also has a cool video which I still don’t fully understand. 3OH!3 grabbed our attention last year with Don’t Trust Her and haven’t looked back. Starstrukk’s currently my ringtone!

8. Cricketz – New Boyz feat. Tyga

New Boyz, the skinny jean wearing rap duo pair with Tyga of Young Money to address all the people hating on their tight jeans, saying the haters just sound like “cricketz” to them. “Oh my God, why (are) their jeans so tight,” goes the bridge in the most annoying, nasal American female voice you’ve ever heard. The “boyz” then reply, saying “Yeah I rock skinnies, so what?” This song isn’t on the list because it has a good tune. Like many rap songs, it doesn’t have a tune at all but a beat that is repeated for the whole song. Cricketz is on the list because of it’s good lyrics and annoying but unforgettable bridge. And because I love skinny jeans!

P.S. With an album called ‘Skinny Jeanz and a Mic’ and a song called Cricketz, someone’s got to tell the New Boyz to be less liberal with their wrongful use of the letter “z”!

9. Riding Solo – Jason Derulo

After dominating our airwaves with What’cha Say, Jasun Derulo brings an even better follow-up called Riding Solo. In the song he celebrates single life after a break-up. With an irresistible violin riff at the beginning, it’s got a really great tune and it’s gauranteed to keep you humming. By the way, be careful not to confuse this song for Iyaz’s Solo – I made the same mistake.

10. If We Ever Meet Again- Timbaland feat. Katy Perry

Timbaland and Katy Perry make a great combination in this slow (but fast at the same time) song. Producer, Timbaland follows in his habit of making similar sounding songs but hey, they sound good so I’ve got no problem. The video’s not really related to the song but is still a good video and Tim. and Katy make a great couple! It’s a shame she’s already engaged to British comedian, Russell Brand.

Sooooooooooo, those are the songs that are, like Iyaz’s “shawty”, running through my mind all day. I’ve realised that Katy Perry and 3OH!3 feature in two songs each on my list while my favourite band the Black Eyed Peas have to manage with only one. Sorry, Peas. All of the songs (including Replay) are available for download on iTunes, Amazon, Napster and the likes. No, I’m not going to recommend that you illegally download it because it’s stealing! I hope you enjoyed your little foray into my mind. You might want to wait a while before trying it again. You may not survive the next trip!

Leave a Reply

