Next Advert

Uncategorized

What’s not to love about Next? It’s probably one of the UK’s best High Street fashion retailers. Great clothes at (only just) affordable prices. Fan-bloody-tastic.

Another good thing about Next is their advert for their new Autumn range. I saw it the other day and I really liked it so I thought I’d share it with everybody.


This is the extended version by the way.

Great cinematography, beautiful models, cool music. They’ve ticked all the boxes for a good clothes advert. It’s also nice that they used a black model which isn’t too common in the UK. He’s called Didier Nโ€™Gozinzonga and he’s French. Urrgghhh! Just kidding.

The song was originally by Dandy Livingstone in 1967 and was covered by The Specials in 1979. I thought I’d check out the original video on YouTube and I it was good in that retro sort of way. The person who posted the video decided not to allow anyone to embed it to a web page so you’ll have to watch it here.

What I noticed, and I think it’s quite cool, is that most of the clothes that the band wear in the video could easily be worn today. I love the 60s/70s retro fashion in the Next advert. Often things like that are done in an over-the-top way possibly with the video in an annoying, grainy old fashioned effect but Next got it just right.

Leave a Reply

