Nexus 7 Review

Uncategorized

Hey everyone!

I recently bought a tablet from Carphone Warehouse and they sent me an email asking me to rate/review it for the product page on their website. While I intended to write a just few words about the thing, I found myself gushing paragraphs about my undying love for my Nexus 7 and thought ‘Hey, if it’s good enough for Carphone Warehouse customers, it’s godd enough for my readers’. So here it is:

So glad I got this. The price is amazing for what you get. I advise buying the 16GB one though, because 8GB gets used up pretty quickly. I’ve almost used up my 16GBs and that’s just with apps, talk less of music and videos!

I was scared that the 7 inch screen would be too small, but I absolutely love the form factor. It fits great in my hand (though it’s quite difficult to use one handed).
Delivery was great as well. Came the next day as promised and Carphone Warhouse sent me emails and texts updating me on its whereabouts. I decided to order it online because when I went to my local branch of Carphone Warehouse and asked if they had the Google Nexus Tablet, the man didn’t know what it was. “Let me ask my boss,” he said and proceeded to ask his supervisor if they stocked the “Google Lexus tablet”. I had to stifle a smile.

It’s superfast as well and I love playing games on it. GTA IIIΒ  (very occasionally it crashes, though) and Asphalt 7 work fine and it’s amazing to be able to play games console quality games on it, when that’s not even what is was primarily designed for. I advise being careful and reading reviews before purchasing apps. I’m yet to come accross this, but some of them don’t work on the Nexus 7 yet (probably because it’s Jelly Bean). So if you’re going to pay for an app, read the comments and see if there are any reviews from Nexus 7 users. If the app’s free then don’t bother: just download it and and if it doesn’t work, delete it.

The stock keyboard is amazing. I was going to buy Swiftkey, but there’s no need, as far as I’m concerned. It’s fast and the predictive text is great. It can be kind of difficult to stretch your thumbs to the middle keys when typing in landscape mode, which makes me glad it’s not as big as an iPad because that would be near impossible.

I love how it comes with a free copy of Transformers 3 and fifteen pounds credit to use on Google Play (though I’m a little bit disappointed as the US version came with more free content e.g. free magazines from Google Play Magazines which is yet to be launched in England).

It’s a slight drawback that there’s no 3G, but to be honest, I can’t really afford to pay for another plan as well as my phone one. This does reduce some of the fun when out and about because most apps require internet, but I suppose you could find a Starbucks or McDonalds with free WiFi. And if you get really desperate, most modern smartphones offer the abiltiy to turn your 3G into a WiFi hotspot. I’m yet to try this, so I can’t comment on how well it works.

Chrome browser is amazing, but I use Firefox because it lets you watch flash videos (see this link: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Xpn603oZbIQ&feature=related). Though I’ve found a way to get around it, it’s quite a shame that it doesn’t come with Flash (or a suitable alternative) out of the box. If not for the above video, I wouldn’t be able to watch iPlayer on it which is like 50% of the reason I bought the thing.

All in all, it’s an amazing device and I’m so glad to have it. SInce it arrived last Tuesday I’ve quite literally been inseperable from it. I would 100% recommend it to anyone who wants a tablet but doesn’t have 500 pounds lying around.

Leave a Reply

