Party Season

christmas, Fashion

I love parties. Love ’em.

Yesterday I went to my work’s Christmas party. When I was at university Christmas ball/party/formal invitations came in thick and fast from various societies and organisations, but since graduating, the well has all but run dry. So yesterday’s was my only proper Christmas party of the season.

So I needed to make the most of it.

Aside from all the food and drink and poor to average dancing, Christmas parties give us an opportunity to get our gladrags on.

Party season is an excuse to get all glitzed up. Materials, textures and colours that we normally wouldn’t go for are suddenly on the table. Tuxedos, evening dresses, silk, sequins, velvet, glitter. Anything’s allowed.

I got this deep purple/burgundy blazer from H&M. Obviously it’s a bit of a statement piece so I’ve tried to keep the rest of the outfit as simple as possible.

After being teased by a friend for my collection of pre-tied bow ties, I recently bought a self-tie one and thought I’d try it out.

It’s harder than it looks.

You can probably tell from the absolute monstrosity around my neck that that was merely my third (semi) successful attempt at tying a bow tie. Ever. So I feel no guilt for inflicting it upon you.

I got these skinny formal trousers from Topman and in classic Edi style I’ve rolled up the hems to show off my socks. The trousers are quite skinny (maybe even a little too skinny if we’re honest) so cuffing the hem makes my legs look a little wider and a little less like drainpipes. A little.

I’ve gone for theseย tan brogues because they spice things up a little downstairs. By which, of course, I mean that they liven up the otherwise plain bottom half of my body.

Why? What did you think I meant?

To match my bow tie I’ve got a black pocket square (the handkerchief you put in the breast pocket of your suit). Usually a pocket square is a great way to bring a little pop of colour or pattern to your outfit butย that’s not necessary with a striking blazer like this so the plain black accessories bring things back down to earth a little.

I also had a scarf that I wore with it but I forgot to wear it in the pictures. Just imagine a really lovely patterned silk scarf. For men.

So there you have it. That’s my party outfit for this year. If you wish to see any more you’ll just have to invite me to your parties.

Your call.

wp-1481980664326.jpg

 

Leave a Reply

