Burgundy, Belts and the Baffling Nature of Man’s Simultaneous Desires for Singularity and Assimilation

Fashion

With London Fashion Week Men’s over and Pitti Uomo just beginning, show season is well underway. As the international menswear community flexes their sartorial muscles, I thought I’d do a little outfit post.

I wore this a couple of weeks ago to a meal with my family. I tried to dress things up a little, just to remind my family of my unwavering sartorial dominance over them, but it was just a meal in a casual restaurant so I didn’t want to go overboard.

I built the look around this burgundy polo-neck/roll-neck/turtleneck (I’ve never been quite sure what the official term is). Burgundy is a big colour every autumn/winter season and always looks great on knitwear. Killing two birds with one stone, I’ve tucked it in – simultaneously keeping things fancy while also giving a little wink to 90s style where tucking in was all the rage, as the cast of Beverly Hills, 90120 would tell you.

I love the texture of this wool coat (to be honest, I got it from Primark so it’s definitely not wool, but let’s just pretend). Equally contemporary and classic, it’s one of my favourite coats and it’s great for layered looks as it’s not too thick.

Keeping things simple, I’ve gone for these dark selvedge jeans from Topman that I got in the black Friday sale in 2015. In fact, almost everything in this outfit is from various sales. I love a good sale.

These brogues (regrettably full price) keep things nice and traditional but the blue laces give it a little modern touch, as does this skinny belt (sale, baby!). ย It’s nice to play around with colours, shapes and textures to give a sense of individuality – or at least as much individuality as a mass-produced belt from a worldwide franchise can grant.

Ok that’s all I’ve got for you. I’ll let you ponder the nature of our conflicting desires for uniqueness and inclusionย in your own time.

Leave a Reply

