Masterpiece

Fashion, places

Living in England, rain is just something that you have to embrace.

If it’s not tipping it down, then it’ll be the typically British, mournfully sombre, scornfully threatening, instantly disheartening overcast sky. And even when it’s actually sunny (as it has been this week), you find yourself unable to appreciate it for fear of the inevitable rain that you know is coming sooner or later (generally it tends to be sooner).

The setting for today’s outfit ultimately results from the rain and its effortless ability to disrupt the best laid plans. A good friend of mine is a photographer (check him out here. He’s incredibly talented!) and we had planned to do some shots out and about in York. The rain had other ideas, so instead, we ended up wandering around the York Art Gallery instead, as it is somewhere I had wanted to visit for a while.

Inspired by the creativity surrounding us and with classic and contemporary art as a backdrop, we ended up taking some photos and I thought I’d turn them into an outfit post.

Let’s make a masterpiece.

 

It’s probably wise to start off with the  standout piece of today’s outfit – these striped trousers. They’re roomy at the top but taper down towards the ankle, keeping things looking slick and tailored while winking to the wide-leg trend that’s taking off at the moment.

If you look closely, you’ll notice that they have pleats on the front, a nice retro flourish that has been criminally underappreciated over the last decade. I’ve seen pleated trousers pop up more and more over the last few seasons – a look back to the more relaxed and spacious tailoring of the 90s, a time before Hedi Slimane foisted the irresistibly ubiquitous skinny suit upon us.

 

When you’ve got a statement piece like these obnoxious trousers, as a rule, it’s generally best to keep everything else as simple as possible. Here I’ve gone for an oversize grey  t-shirt. Nothing fancy, I just bought a couple sizes larger than I usually wear to get that baggy 90s style.

My black denim jacket is from Gap (bought in the sale, naturally). Unlike the more relaxed, baggy denim jackets I normally go for, this one is more fitted and contrasts nicely with the looser tee and trousers.

 

 

Keeping up the monochrome theme, I’ve gone for grey sneakers and white socks.  No colour for me, thanks. I’ve also got my trusty grey cap, which pairs nicely with the grey tee, helping tie the outfit together.

Finally, my bag is from Topman and cost me Β£1. Yes, Β£1. I just got lucky one day and managed to turn up when they had loads to get rid of. I really enjoy its neutral colour palette as well as the leather touches that make it stand out.

Truly a work of art.

Photos by Rob McConkey

 

Leave a Reply

